HobbyKings.com - Only the Elite
FAQ Search Staff Members Groups Register Login to check PMs
Rules Login/Out Store
Twitter Facebook YouTube Blog
What Do You Collect?

Post new topic   Reply to topic       HobbyKings.com Forum Index -> Basketball -> Hobby Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Umi
VERIFIED TRADER

Topics: 203
Feedback Score: 49

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 5:00 pm    Post subject: What Do You Collect? Reply with quote

At the suggestion of another member, I decided to make a thread to try initiate some hobby conversation, and that is: What or whom do you collect?

As many of you know, I PC Joe Johnson. I have been collecting him since the 2001-02 season and try to pick up everything of his - all base, parallels, inserts, basically anything that you can put in a top loader - and I don't hoard - only buy one of each card.

Besides for JJ, I also have some side player collections. I have been trying to put together rookie year card collections of some of my favorites - (alphabetically) Ray Allen, Ron Artest, Vince Carter, Chris Webber, Yao Ming and in football, Charles Woodson. I finished the Allen and Webber ones - not as difficult as no 1/1's - but the progress on the others has been very slow, especially recently. When rare cards do pop up, it's very hard to outbid more serious collectors of said players. But anyways, it's part of the chase - a goal that will never be accomplished. My brother and I also collect Dwight Gooden cards - mostly autographs and only Mets uniform. We grew up huge Mets fans and Doc was our favorite player. I think the first pack I ever opened was 1985 Topps while chasing his rookie card - I was 8.