HobbyKings.com - Only the Elite
FAQ Search Staff Members Groups Register Login to check PMs
Rules Login/Out Store
Twitter Facebook YouTube Blog
Steroid Use in Professional Sports - Why or Why not?

Post new topic   Reply to topic       HobbyKings.com Forum Index -> Baseball -> League Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  

If steroids were LEGAL in the U.S. - should Professional Sports allow players to use them?
Yes
37%
 37%  [ 3 ]
No
62%
 62%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 8

biodole
MUST SEND FIRST ON ALL TRANSACTIONS

Topics: 2
Feedback Score: 0

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:52 am    Post subject: Steroid Use in Professional Sports - Why or Why not? Reply with quote

Hey there guys...

this is something that's always been a great debate for me - so lets keep it civil and make sure to listen to everyone's point of view. No name calling please!

Being that I am a personal trainer, NATURAL bodybuilder (I don't use steroids), a lifelong student to the field of health and wellness - as well as a sports fanatic, I have quite a big belief that not many people agree with me on.

I feel that steroids (given my knowledge of them), should NOT be banned from professional sports because of "cheating." The only rule that would make any sense to me about steroids being banned is because they are illegal (federally). But as far as performance and "cheating" are concerned, I take an alternate stance - here is my reasoning.

1. Anabolic Steroids when taken properly will rapid muscular gains when combined with a proper diet and strength training routine. However, the same can be said about natural compounds such as Creatine Monohydrate, Tribulus, ZMA, etc. Now, obviously Anabolic steroids do in fact provide a faster and larger effect than these supplements - however so what? Unless you work out PROPERLY and have a PROPER diet, you can be on all the steroids you want and never see any gains...unless you consider hair loss and estrogenic side effects to be gains.